Board of Directors

  • Dr. Lisa Calder, MD, MSc, FRCSCBoard Chair

    She then pursued her passion for patient safety by completing two additional fellowships: the Patient Safety Fellowship in Emergency Medicine from the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine and the Emergency Medicine Patient Safety Foundation, and the American Hospital Association’s Fellowship in Patient Safety Leadership. As a researcher, she has published over 80 peer-reviewed publications and has been successful in securing research funding, including over 2 million dollars as principal investigator. Dr. Calder is an Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa’s Department of Emergency Medicine, and has received the University of Ottawa’s Excellence in Emergency Medicine Quality and Safety Award as well as the Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians’ Teacher of the Year Award. Dr. Calder spent more than a decade practising as an emergency physician in Ottawa before joining the Canadian Medical Protective Association (CMPA) in 2015 as the Director of Medical Care Analytics. In her role as CMPA’s Director of Medical Care Analytics, she has diversified data sources and analytic approaches, created an evidence synthesis unit and a member data request service. She has also extended and created new stakeholder relationships that have elevated the CMPA’s profile internationally in medical-legal data analysis. Dr. Calder lives in Ottawa with her husband and their two daughters.

  • Kevin FordDirector

    Prior to joining Calian, Kevin worked in professional services for over 30 years including 11 years at IBM as a Partner in Global Business Services. Kevin also worked at Canadian professional services firms LGS and DMR in business development and contract delivery capacities. He started his career at the Department of National Defence spending over 14 years in the Information Technology domain. Kevin is a member of the Institute of Corporate Directors. In addition to the Calian and Saegis Boards, Kevin is active as a board member with Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries (CADSI), the Ottawa Hospital Foundation and on the Board of Governors for Excellence Canada.

  • Bruce A. Joyce, FCPA, ICD.DDirector

    Bruce was the founding Chair of the National Capital chapter of the Institute of Corporate Directors. He holds his ICD.D designation and currently Chairs the Audit Committee of the Auditor General of Canada, is also a member of the Boards of two manufacturing companies, two technology companies and the Surrey City Development Corporation. Bruce is a Chartered Professional Accountant and a Fellow of CPA Ontario (FCPA, FCA). He has completed the Directors Education Program through the Institute of Corporate Directors and is Human Resources and Compensation Committee Certified through The Directors College.

  • Dr. David Naysmith, BSc, DMD, MD, FRCSCDirector

    David’s overseas work has included two missions with MSF in Bosnia and Eritrea, and work with Operation Rainbow Canada in Cambodia, Indonesia and India, and with Health 4 Humanity in Guatemala. David is the founder and President of At Risk Rescue Ltd, and S7 Medical Mentor. He has also been a long-standing member of the Association of Ringside Physicians, in support of boxers, kickboxers and MMA fighters. In 2012, the Victoria Medical Society honoured David with the Service to Medicine and Society Award, and in 2016, the Division of Medical Sciences at the University of Victoria granted him the Distinguished Alumni Award. David has served on the Council of the Canadian Medical Protective Association since 2003.

  • Andrea Seymour, B.Ed, CHE, FCCHL Director

    Andrea recently retired from Horizon Health Network where she served as Chief Operating Officer and VP Corporate, accountable for all corporate services including risk management, finance, human resources, health information management, facilities support and infrastructure. Prior to this, Andrea served in a series of senior roles with the Government of New Brunswick, the River Valley Health Authority and Region 3 Hospital Corporation. Andrea’s educational background includes a Bachelor of Education from the University of New Brunswick and Fellowships with the Canadian Council of Health Leaders, the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation (EXTRA) and the Ivey School of Business (CommunityShift). Andrea also maintains her professional designation as a Certified Health Executive from the Canadian College of Health Service Executives. In addition to her Saegis Board member role, Andrea serves on the Board of Directors for Mohawk Medbuy, a not for profit organization provides shared services, including group buying services, for hospitals and community-based healthcare facilities.

  • Dr. Birinder Singh, BSc, LLB, MD, CCFP, Law Society of OntarioDirector

    Birinder completed a combined law and medicine degree at The University of Western Ontario (now Western University). He served as a law clerk for the Honourable Mr. Justice Ian Binnie of the Supreme Court of Canada. Birinder worked as a legal consultant on a National Commission of Inquiry and provided legal consulting services for various interveners at the Supreme Court of Canada. During his legal training, he worked at McCarthy Tetrault LLP and Gowlings LLP. Birinder has served on Council of the Canadian Medical Protective Association since 2014. Currently a member of the CMPA Executive Committee, Birinder served as Chair of the Pension Committee and the Human Resources and Compensation Committee, and served on the Governance and Nominating Committees. Previously, Birinder served on the board of directors of Access Alliance, and was a member of the systemic issues working group for the Sick Kids Family Legal Health Program.